hebdoOSM 429

02/10/2018-08/10/2018

Pic

Occupation des sols [1] | © GIScience Research Group, Données cartographiques © Contributeurs OpenStreetMap

Cartographie

  • Le vote a commencé pour la clé assembly_point:purpose=*, conçue pour spécifier le type de danger — incendie, tsunami, tremblement de terre, tornade — correspond à la clé emergency=assembly_point (point de rassemblement).
  • Warin61 a remarqué qu’une bonne partie des relations de transports public sont cassées. Il décrit les pré-requis minimaux pour qu’elles passent les tests de l’outil de validation OSMInspector de GeoFabrik, ce qui est bien plus simple que de passer son temps entre les différentes pages du wiki qui documentent la manière de cartographier les relations de bus et de train.

Communauté

  • Pour la troisième année consécutive et avec le soutien d’un Volontaire International de la Francophonie, des membres de la communauté OSM Mali ont organisé un camp de formation OSM à Ségou d’une semaine au bénéfice d’un groupe d’étudiants, dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec l’Université de la ville. Environ 70 étudiants ségoviens ont ainsi été formés à OSM depuis 2016.

Fondation OpenStreetMap

  • Jinal Foflia appelle à rejoindre la Fondation OpenStreetMap. Dans son billet de blog, elle explique pourquoi vous devriez la rejoindre, les bénéfices à en attendre et comment devenir membre. Elle indique qu’un programme d’exemption de frais d’adhésion sera bientôt lancé.
  • OSM US accueille son nouveau directeur exécutif. Jaye Matthews a été sélectionnée parmi plus de 40 candidats pour ce nouveau poste à plein temps. Elle a plus de 20 ans d’expérience au bureau d’associations caritatives, mais découvre OpenStreetMap.

Événements

  • Une cartopartie dédiée à la question de l’accessibilité en fauteuil roulant sera organisée le 19 octobre à Turin en Italie.

OSM et l’humanitaire

  • Le Tribunnews Indonésien rapporte (traduction automatique) les efforts de la communauté OSM indonésienne pour cartographier les zones affectées par des tremblements de terre et le tsunami dévastateur à Palu à partir des images de DigitalGlobe prises le 2 octobre.
  • UBOS, le bureau national des statistique d’Ouganda prend une part active dans la cartographie sur OSM. 11 membres ont appris à utiliser JOSM, QGIS et des outils mobiles pour le travail de terrain. Le pays a de nombreux défis à relever et OSM peut l’aider en ce sens.
  • Matthew Gibb a demandé l’aide des utilisateurs OSM expérimentés avant l’arrivée de l’ouragan Michael pour valider les routes sur la côte de Floride. Une tâche sur le gestionnaire d’OSM US a été créée.
  • En September, la faculté et des étudiants de l’Université de Warwick ont organisé un atelier « comprendre le données géospatiales humanitaires pour améliorer l’impact des interventions humanitaires sur la santé et le bien-être », co-organisé par MSF, HOT, Bangladesh Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Operations Team (BHOOT) et le groupe de recherche GIS de l’Université d’Heidelberg. L’événement a permis aux participants de discuter des approches actuelles, des défis et de la façon de les relever collaborativement.
  • HOT rappelle que nous sommes en octobre et donc qu’il y a Hacktoberfest. C’est un événement annuel hébergé par Digital Ocean, GitHub et Twilio pour promouvoir la contribution aux projets open source. HOT en profite pour évoquer plus de 15 de ses projets open source actifs.

Cartes

  • Cartisan, une petite société de cartographie basée en Arménie développe une carte topographique de randonnée du Parc national de Dilijan en Arménie. Il s’agira de la première carte topographique moderne en Arménie, reposant en grande partie sur les données OSM grandement améliorées dans la région par l’équipe. La carte (exemple) est créée exclusivement avec des logiciels libres. Une campagne de «crowdfunding» pour faire produire la carte a été lancée en collaboration avec Transcaucasian Trail, l’ONG locale qui s’occupe des sentiers.
  • Raymond Inzitari a écrit un article sur la façon dont il a lancé une entreprise réalisant des œuvres d’art sous forme de cartes en bois. Plus de six mois de développement ont été nécessaires pour construire un modèle qui utilise les données OSM, les convertir en base de données géospatiales et produire un fichier pour la découpe laser.

Données ouvertes

  • François Lacombe soulève la question d’une participation d’OSM à des évènements tels que l’Energy Summit 2018 de la LinuxFoundation. Il indique en effet qu’il est de plus en plus fréquent de voir des opérateurs d’infrastructure remplacer des données propriétaires par OSM.

Applications

  • Le logiciel libre VROOM, qui résout des problèmes logiciels de navigation routière, permettra dans sa prochaine version de tenir compte des contraintes horaires. La fonctionnalité est accessible en version beta via le serveur de démonstration du projet.
  • Vous en avez assez des mise à jour hors de prix du système de navigation d’origine de votre voiture ? Un Raspberry Pi, un écran LCD et le tour est joué pour créer un système embarqué basé sur OSM pour la navigation.
  • Generation Streets, un jeu disponible sur Steam, utilise OSM pour modéliser un environnement 3D impressionnant.
  • Richard Fairhurst a publié un prototype d’éditeur OSM dont l’interface se concentre sur la cartographie à partir de photos géoréférencées.

Développement

  • Suite à la dégradation des fonctionnalités de la dernière version de Java sortie par Oracle, la fondation OSGeo organise un « sprint » de développement pour ses projets utilisant Java, comme par exemple Geoserver. La fondation est à la recherche de «sponsors» (ie. commanditaires) pour cet évènement qui aura lieu dans plusieurs lieux entre le 22 et le 26 octobre.
  • La question du re-développement de JOSM suite aux changements de licence du nouveau JDK d’Oracle a été posée sur la liste de diffusion. Les réponses indiquent que JOSM est compatible avec OpenJDK, la version libre de Java, et n’a donc pas besoin de la version d’Oracle de toute manière.
  • La fonctionnalité avoid_polygons de l’API OpenRouteService permet de calculer des itinéraires alternatifs durant les inondations. Afin d’intégrer des données en temps réel, une équipe de recherche de l’université d’HeiGIT propose une méthode de détermination des polygones à partir de données Twitter.
  • Si vous vous sentez limité dans votre contrôle de l’intégration d’une carte avec Google Maps, Mapbox ou Leaflet, vous serez peut-être intéressé par une approche utilisant Vue.js et d3.js. Mikhail Panichev a décrit l’ utilisation de ces librairies pour la création d’une simple carte interactive.

Connaissez-vous…

  • … la fonction angle snap de JOSM ? Elle permet de tracer une ligne parallèle, perpendiculaire ou formant un angle donné avec un segment existant.
  • … la carte des transports publics ?

OSM dans les médias

  • Centésimo Mono a publié (es) (traduction automatique) une interview avec Carlos Brys, qui évoque un premier mapathon dans la province Misiones et plus particulièrement t le principe d’acquisition des données sur le terrain.

Autres sujets géographiques

  • Le Parlement écossais a adopté une loi interdisant aux organismes publics écossais de faire des cartes qui montrent les Îles Shetland (généralement situées au large d’Aberdeen ou près des Orcades) dans un « encart ». Ont suivi de nombreuses réactions sur Twitter, et Kenneth Field, un cartographe d’ESRI, fournit une liste détaillée des raisons pour lesquelles l’encart est le choix cartographique le plus raisonnable.
  • [1] L’Université d’Heidelberg a accueilli une cartopartie pour démontrer la puissance de la validation collaborative dans le domaine de l’occupation des sols à Genève, sur la base des données Sentinel 2 et OSM. Un premier jet est visible sur OSM ici.
  • Chris Wayne a écrit un article sur la création de cartes pour les malvoyants. Dans son article, il couvre les deux approches les plus courantes, qui sont les cartes tactiles et les cartes auditives (cartes parlantes au sens littéral du terme).
  • Dans un autre article sur les besoins des malvoyants, Nicola Byrne explique comment utiliser 3D audio pour le guidage dans les villes, et partage son expérience du système et de son fonctionnement.
  • Les Amis de la Terre ont publié une vidéo de 100 secondes, dans laquelle chaque seconde représente 1% des utilisations des terres au Royaume-Uni, afin de poser la question de l’espace dévolu à la nature.
  • Le blog privé addshore.com a publié un article sur l’augmentation du nombre d’éléments Wikidata au cours des 6 derniers mois. L’article donne une synthèse de l’augmentation par région et mentionne qu’elle pourrait être due en Afrique à Wikimania 2018. Durant cette période, environ un million d’éléments géolocalisés ont été ajoutés à Wikidata.

Événements à venir

Quoi Quand Pays
Samara Mēda Mapping party in Oktyabrsk 2018-10-01-2018-10-14 russia
Berlin 124. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch 2018-10-12 germany
Nantes Participation au « Village des sciences » lors de la Fête de la Science à l’Hôtel de région 2018-10-12-2018-10-14 france
Frankfurt am Main Intergeo 2018 2018-10-15-2018-10-18 germany
Aéroport de Cologne/Bonn Bonner Stammtisch 2018-10-16 germany
Lunebourg Lüneburger Mappertreffen 2018-10-16 germany
Karlsruhe Stammtisch 2018-10-17 germany
Vienne Stammtisch 2018-10-17 österreich
Mumble Creek OpenStreetMap Foundation public board meeting 2018-10-18 everywhere
Moscou Shemotehnica No. 18 in the office of « Urbica » 2018-10-19 russia
Hambourg ITS-Hackathon « Mobility meets Logistics » 2018-10-19-2018-10-20 germany
Karlsruhe Karlsruher Hackweekend 2018-10-20-2018-10-21 germany
Brême Bremer Mappertreffen 2018-10-22 germany
Nottingham Pub Meetup 2018-10-23 united kingdom
Arlon Espace public numérique d’Arlon – Formation Consulter OpenStreetMap 2018-10-23 belgium
Cologne Köln Stammtisch 2018-10-24 germany
Lübeck Lübecker Mappertreffen 2018-10-25 germany
Bangalore State of the Map Asia 2018 2018-11-17-2018-11-18 india
Melbourne FOSS4G SotM Oceania 2018 2018-11-20-2018-11-23 australia

Note: Pour que votre événement apparaisse dans l’hebdoOSM, ajoutez-le au calendrier.

Cet hebdoOSM a été préparé par Nakaner, PierZen, Polyglot, Rogehm, SK53, derFred, jcoupey, roptat.

One thought on “hebdoOSM 429

  1. Simon Poole dit :

    OSM US is not a local (or otherwise) chapter of the OSMF and so it is a bit weird to find its news under the OSMF heading.

Comments are closed.

weeklyOSM 429

02/10/2018-08/10/2018

Pic

The tags landuse and landcover on https://osmlanduse.org  [1] | © GIScience Research Group](http://www.geog.uni-heidelberg.de/giscience.html), Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

Mapping

  • The voting for the key assembly_point:purpose= has started. The key is is intended to be used with emergency=assembly_point where there is a need to specify the kind of hazard – fire, tsunami, earthquake, tornado.
  • Warin61 noticed that quite a few public transport route relations are broken. He describes the minimal requirements to make them pass the tests from GeoFabrik’s OSMInspector validation tool, which is a lot easier than having to go through the respective wiki pages documenting how to map bus and train route relations.

Community

  • For the third consecutive year members of the OSM Mali community hosted a week-long OSM training camp in Segou for students of the local university. About 70 students have been taught OSM techniques since 2016.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • Jinal Foflia explains the reasons and benefits of joining the OpenStreetMap Foundation (OSMF) and how to become a member. She also points out that a membership fee waiver program will be implemented soon.
  • OSM US welcomes their new executive director. Jaye Matthews was selected from more than 40 applicants for the newly established full-time position. She has more than 20 years of experience in non-profit leadership, but is completely new to OpenStreetMap.

Events

  • On October 19th a mapping party with specific focus on wheelchair accessibility will be held in Torino, Italy.

Humanitarian OSM

  • The Indonesian Tribunnews reports (automatic translation) about the efforts of OpenStreetMap Indonesia to map the area affected by earthquakes and the devastating tsunami around Petobo, South Palu based on DigitalGlobe imagery taken on October 2nd.
  • UBOS, Uganda’s national bureau for statistics, is taking an active role in mapping in OSM. Eleven core members have learned how to use JOSM, QGIS and mobile tools for surveying. There are many challenges to overcome in the country and OSM can help with that.
  • Matthew Gibb asked experienced OSM mappers for help with the validation of roads in the Florida Panhandle ahead of Hurricane Michael. A task was created for this on the OSM US tasking manager.
  • In September, faculty and students of the Centre for Interdisciplinary Methodologies, University of Warwick organised a workshop on “Making sense of humanitarian geospatial data to improve the impact of humanitarian interventions on health and wellbeing“. The workshop was co-convened by Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF UK), the Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Team (HOT), the Bangladesh Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Operations Team (BHOOT) and the Heidelberg Institute for Geoinformation Technology/GIScience Research Group at Heidelberg University. The event enabled participants to discuss current approaches and challenges and, most importantly, how to collaboratively address them.
  • It is October, so HOT commemorates open source by involvement in Hacktoberfest. It is an annual event hosted by Digital Ocean, GitHub and Twilio to promote contributing to open source projects. HOT reminds readers of over 15 of their own active open source projects.

Maps

  • Cartisan, a small Armenian-based cartography company, is creating a topographic hiking map of Dilijan National Park in Armenia. This will be the first modern topographic map set in Armenia. The map relies heavily on OSM data and the makers have greatly improved the OSM database in the area. The map (sample) is created exclusively with FOSS. They have launched a crowdfunding campaign, together with the local trail-building NGO, Transcaucasian Trail, to get the map produced.
  • Raymond Inzitari wrote a post about how he started a business making wooden maps as artwork. It took him over six months of development to build a model that uses OSM data, convert it to a geodatabase and output an AI file that is required for the laser cutter.

Open Data

  • François Lacombe asks whether OSM should participate in events such as the upcoming LinuxFoundation Energy Summit 2018. He argues that it is becoming increasingly common for energy infrastructure operators to replace proprietary data with OSM data.

Software

  • The next release of VROOM, free software to solve vehicle routing problems, will handle time windows constraints. The feature is already available for beta testing through the project’s demo server.
  • Sick of expensive map updates for your car’s built-in SatNav? A Raspberry Pi, an LCD screen and a few other components are all that is needed to create a DIY car navigation system that can provide free navigation based on OSM data overlaid on OpenMapTiles. The system can even include a rear view camera.
  • Generation Streets, a game available on Steam, is using OSM to render an impressive 3D environment.
  • Richard Fairhurst published a proof of concept for an OSM editor with a GUI that focuses primarily on street level imagery based mapping.

Programming

  • Due to Oracle’s slimming down and reduction of available functionality in their latest Java release, the OSGeo Foundation is organising a code sprint for their Java-based projects (e.g. Geoserver) at several locations from October 22nd to 26th, for which they are looking for sponsors.
  • The question whether the time has come to redevelop JOSM due to unpopular licensing changes in Oracle’s Java was asked on the mailing list. Responders point out that JOSM is compatible with the open-source Java implementation OpenJDK, and therefore does not require Oracle’s version of Java in the first place.
  • The avoid_polygons feature of the OpenRouteService API allows one to find alternative routes during flood events. To integrate real time information, a team of researchers at HeiGIT proposes a workflow to delineate flooded areas using Twitter data.
  • If you feel limited by how you can integrate a map into your website with Google Maps, Mapbox or Leaflet, you might want to have a look at the Vue.js framework and the d3.js library. Mikhail Panichev wrote a guide on how to create an interactive map with both of these JavaScript tools.

Did you know …

  • … JOSM’s angle snap feature? This feature helps you to add a line parallel, perpendicular or at defined angles to a base segment.
  • … the public transport map?

OSM in the media

  • Centésimo Mono published an interview with Carlos Brys. Carlos Brys reports about the first mapathon in the province Misiones and refers especially to the principle of data acquisition on site. (es) (automatic translation)

Other “geo” things

  • The Scottish Parliament passed a law banning public bodies in Scotland from making maps which display the Shetland Islands “in a box” (usually located offshore from Aberdeen or next to the Orkneys). Twitter has extensive commentary, and Kenneth Field, an ESRI cartographer, provides a detailed breakdown of why insets (“boxes”) are the sensible cartographic choice.
  • [1] The University of Heidelberg hosted a mapping session to show the power of crowdsourcing for map validation by collaboratively validating the land use and land cover map of Geneva with ESA’s Sentinel 2 and OpenStreetMap data. A preliminary version of the OSM Landuse Map can be found here.
  • Chris Wayne wrote an article about creating maps for visually impaired people. In his article he covers the two most common approaches to accomplish this, which are are tactile maps (maps you can feel) and auditory maps (maps that talk in the literal sense).
  • Another article that addresses the needs of blind people was written by Nicola Byrne. In her article she explains how to use 3D audio to guide blind people around cities, her experience with the system and how it works.
  • Friends of the Earth have published a 100 second video, with each second representing one percent of the landuses in the UK. The video asks whether nature has the space that it deserves.
  • The private blog addshore.com published an article about the increase in the number of Wikidata items over the past 6 months. The article gives a breakdown of the increase by region and mentions that the increase in Africa may be due to Wikimania 2018. Over the period about one million geolocalised items were added to Wikidata.

Upcoming Events

Where What When Country
Samara Mēda Mapping party in Oktyabrsk 2018-10-01-2018-10-14 russia
Berlin 124. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch 2018-10-12 germany
Nantes Participation au « Village des sciences » lors de la Fête de la Science à l’Hôtel de région 2018-10-12-2018-10-14 france
Frankfurt am Main Intergeo 2018 2018-10-15-2018-10-18 germany
Cologne Bonn Airport Bonner Stammtisch 2018-10-16 germany
Lüneburg Lüneburger Mappertreffen 2018-10-16 germany
Karlsruhe Stammtisch 2018-10-17 germany
Vienna Stammtisch 2018-10-17 österreich
Mumble Creek OpenStreetMap Foundation public board meeting 2018-10-18 everywhere
Moscow Shemotehnica No. 18 in the office of “Urbica” 2018-10-19 russia
Hamburg ITS-Hackathon “Mobility meets Logistics” 2018-10-19-2018-10-20 germany
Karlsruhe Karlsruher Hackweekend 2018-10-20-2018-10-21 germany
Bremen Bremer Mappertreffen 2018-10-22 germany
Nottingham Pub Meetup 2018-10-23 united kingdom
Arlon Espace public numérique d’Arlon – Formation Consulter OpenStreetMap 2018-10-23 belgium
Cologne Köln Stammtisch 2018-10-24 germany
Lübeck Lübecker Mappertreffen 2018-10-25 germany
Bengaluru State of the Map Asia 2018 2018-11-17-2018-11-18 india
Melbourne FOSS4G SotM Oceania 2018 2018-11-20-2018-11-23 australia

Note: If you like to see your event here, please put it into the calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM. Please check your event in our public calendar preview and correct it, where appropriate.

This weeklyOSM was produced by Nakaner, PierZen, Polyglot, Rogehm, SK53, SunCobalt, TheSwavu, YoViajo, derFred, jinalfoflia, keithonearth.

One thought on “weeklyOSM 429

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.