hebdoOSM 433

 

30/10/2018-05/11/2018

Tourist map of Pristina, Kosoo
Pristina, la capitale du Kosovo, a créé sa nouvelle carte touristique officielle avec OpenStreetMap et Maposmatic1. | © contributeurs OpenStreetMap et Municipalité de Pristina

Cartographie

  • Pascal Neis indique sur Twitter avoir mis à jour sa carte Unmapped Places, qui indique des villages sous-cartographiés dont les environs ne contiennent aucun des types de route habituels.
  • Stefano Maffulli suggère emergency=fire_alarm_box sur la liste tagging pour décrire un « appareil dans un lieu public utilisé pour alerter les pompiers ». La proposition est limitée aux alarmes publiques dans la rue et ne concerne pas les boitiers dans les bâtiments, surtout faits pour alerter les gens à l’intérieur.
  • Toni Erdmann partage un nouvel outil d’analyse qualité (QA) : PTNA – Public Transport Network Analysis sur la liste talk-de et le forum. Cet outil aidera à résoudre les problèmes liés aux mises à jour des différents moyens de transports publics, comme les trains, les métros, les trams et les bus.
  • Il y a près de 4 ans le triangle des Bermudes a été cartographié avec quatre nœuds et un chemin. Comme OpenStreetMap Inspector a une couche « segments trop longs », quelqu’un a ajouté presque 400 nœuds pour éviter que ce ne soit rapporté comme une erreur potentielle. La discussion du groupe de modifications donne des arguments supplémentaires en faveur de l’ajout de nœuds pour réduire la taille des segments. La discussion a continué sur Slack et apparemment les arguments en défaveur de l’ajout des nœuds étaient plus convainvants puisque ces nœuds ont disparu dans le triangle des Bermudes été supprimés.
  • Le billet de blog intitulé Finding Missing Roads in the Philippines de l’utilisateur Gowin explique sa manière de travailler et une nouvelle approche de validation pour trouver les routes potentiellement manquantes pour compléter le réseau routier des Philippines.
  • L’outil d’assurance qualité des adresses OSMSuspects de l’utilisateur dooley est maintenant de nouveau disponible à tous les utilisateurs. Si vous vous connectez avec votre compte OSM, vous verrez les métadonnées.
  • Leif Rasmussen présente sur la liste tagging une proposition de clé pour décrire les horaires de transport dans OSM. Il n’est pas surprenant que la plupart des intervenants dans la discussion ne voit pas l’utilité d’ajouter les horaires dans toute leur complexité avec de multiples détails. Compte tenu de la difficulté de maintenir les horaires à jour, ces données seraient perçues comme peu fiables. Une proposition plus simple avec une clé interval en combinaison avec des heures d’ouverture pourrait par contre mériter plus d’attention.
  • Simon Poole n’est pas d’accord avec la pratique actuelle de diviser les balises comme languages=<code>>;<code>;<code>;<code> en language:<code1>=yes + language:<code2>=yes. Il considère que cela rend les choses plus difficiles pour les utilisateurs de données et les auteurs de modèles d’édition.

Communauté

  • Opencagedata.com publie une interview avec Russ Garrett de OpenInfraMap.org. Russ, qui a rencontré Steve Coast en 2005 dans un pub, dirige le projet OpenInfraMap, qui est une visualisation des données OSM pour les infrastructures, les réseaux électriques les plus importants, et aussi des infrastructures de télécommunications, de pétrole et d’eau.
  • Le contributeur johnarupire de osmpe.org rapporte sur l’organisation d’un cours d’introduction à OSM et ses usages sociaux et humanitaires dans la prévention et la gestion des urgences. Ce cours aura lieu à la Faculté des sciences sociales de l’Université nationale de San Marcos à Lima, au Pérou, et sera axé sur la participation, la communauté et les opendata géographiques.
  • Le membre du groupe de travail sur les données (DWG) mavl a rédigé un billet de blog d’utilisateur au sujet des 1000 premiers messages qui ont été reçus au sujet de la nouvelle fonction de rapport sur openstreetmap.org. Près de 60 % des rapports portaient sur les utilisateurs, suivis des notes de l’OSM. Indépendamment de l’objet de la préoccupation, les principales raisons de ces rapports étaient les pourriels.

Fondation OpenStreetMap

  • Frederik Ramm, trésorier et membre du conseil d’administration de la fondation OSM évoque la rumeur de deux sociétés (non nommées) qui encourageraient leurs employés à adhérer à la fondation, avec remboursement de l’adhésion et consignes de vote.
  • Rory McCann explique sur la liste de discussion OSMF comment un employeur peut dire à ses employés pour qui ils doivent voter et comment cela peut être confirmé malgré la publication « anonyme » des votes.
  • Nous nous joignons à l’appel de Michael Reichert et d’autres invitant à devenir membre de l’OSMF. Seule une large base de membres peut assurer que le conseil d’administration de OSMF agira toujours dans l’intérêt des cartographes. Si vous voulez voter à l’élection de cette année, vous devez vous inscrire jusqu’au 15 novembre. De plus, presque tous les groupes de travail de l’OSMF ont besoin d’aide.
  • L’OSMF a travaillé sur l’adaptation de l’API OpenStreetMap (Rails Port et CGIMap) dans le cadre du Règlement général sur la protection des données et appels d’offres pour le 15 novembre.

Événements

OSM et l’humanitaire

  • Comme Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Erasmus + Students l’ont annoncé dans un tweet, un groupe de 12 enseignants d’Irlande, Espagne, Portugal, Roumanie et Allemagne a organisé une semaine de formation sur le concept d’enseigner aux enseignants. Le programme avait une portée plus large avec des sujets tels que la cartographie, Overpass, le wiki OSM, les canaux de communication et autres, mais aussi l’éducation liée à Wikimedia. Ce programme a mis en lumière les possibilités d’OSM en matière d’intervention humanitaire et de soutien au développement économique ainsi que les leaders pionniers (qui sont des bénévoles) dans ce domaine.
  • HOT appelle à l’aide dans les prochaines semaines pour un projet dont l’objectif est d’aider et de dénombrer les réfugiés Vénézuéliens présents sur l’île d’Aruba.
  • HOT a réalisé la cartographie des principales infrastructures (bâtiments, routes et cours d’eau) de Semarang, la 5e ville d’Indonésie.

Cartes

  • L’application de navigation Magic Earth, basée sur OSM, est maintenant intégrée avec CarPlay d’Apple, selon cet article (de).
  • Nicolas Bétheuil fait le point sur la liste talk-fr sur sa carte vectorielle des transports publics basée sur Overpass.
  • Le modèle JOSM de la carte de Noël a été à court préavis révisé par l’utilisateur Negreheb et documenté dans le wiki.

switch2OSM

  • Pristina, la capitale du Kosovo, a adopté OpenStreetMap comme carte touristique officielle. L’utilisateur Stereo (Guillaume Rischard) décrit dans son journal son voyage au Kosovo, la rencontre avec la communauté locale de l’OSM et comment il a convaincu la municipalité de Pristina d’utiliser OpenStreetMap.

Données ouvertes

  • OpenGeoHub a annoncé la sortie de LandGIS, un système de cartographie similaire à OSM pour les données de terrain d’une résolution entre 250 m et 1 km. Les données concernent le relief, la géologie, l’occupation des sols, les propriétés et classes de sol, la végétation et sont examinées selon un procédé ouvert. Le projet recoupe (ou concurrence) en partie OSM.
  • L’agence _Statistique Canada présente sur la liste talk-ca la base de données ouvertes sur les immeubles. La façon de travailler avec la communauté dans différentes régions du Canada pour réaliser des imports est discutée en réponse.

Applications

  • Simon Poole évoque dans son journal la fin du support de Google Play pour Android 2.3 et 3.x et l’impact pour Vespucci, qui supporte encore ces versions d’Android. Il décrit également comment compiler Vespucci pour les appareils avec très peu de RAM.

Développement

Autres sujets géographiques

  • Justin O’beirne a publié un article sur la nouvelle carte d’Apple en mettant en évidence les différences avec l’ancienne, par exemple la quantité de détails sur la végétation.

Événements à venir

Quoi Quand Pays
Kyōto 京都!街歩き!マッピングパーティ:第2回 美山かやぶきの里 2018-11-11 japan
Rennes Réunion mensuelle 2018-11-12 france
Zurich OSM Stammtisch Zurich 2018-11-12 switzerland
Lyon Rencontre mensuelle pour tous 2018-11-13 france
Salzbourg Maptime Salzburg 2018-11-13 austria
León Dia del SIG 2018 – Universidad de León 2018-11-14 spain
Munich Münchner Stammtisch 2018-11-14 germany
Mumble Creek OpenStreetMap Foundation public board meeting 2018-11-15 everywhere
Mannheim Mannheimer Mapathons 2018-11-15 germany
Freiberg Stammtisch 2018-11-15 germany
Pampelune Mapatón Pamplona – Médicos sin Fronteras 2018-11-16 spain
Côme ItWikiCon 2018 2018-11-16-2018-11-18 italy
Côme Mapping Party during ItWikiCon 2018 2018-11-17 italy
Brno State of the Map CZ 2018 2018-11-17 czech republic
Bangalore State of the Map Asia 2018 2018-11-17-2018-11-18 india
Vantaa OSM GeoWeek 24h HOT Mapathon 2018-11-17-2018-11-18 finland
Wakayama オープンデータソン in 雑賀崎 2018-11-18 japan
Aéroport de Cologne/Bonn Bonner Stammtisch 2018-11-20 germany
Lunebourg Lüneburger Mappertreffen 2018-11-20 germany
Derby Pub Meetup 2018-11-20 united kingdom
Reading Reading Missing Maps Mapathon 2018-11-20 united kingdom
Melbourne FOSS4G SotM Oceania 2018 2018-11-20-2018-11-23 australia
Toulouse Rencontre mensuelle 2018-11-21 france
Karlsruhe Stammtisch 2018-11-21 germany
Lübeck Lübecker Mappertreffen 2018-11-22 germany
Alajuela ES:State of the Map Costa Rica 2018-11-23-2018-11-25 costa rica
Manille 【MapaTime!】 2018-11-24 philippines
Dublin Monthly Mapping Party 2018-11-24 Ireland
Graz Stammtisch Graz 2018-11-26 austria
Brême Bremer Mappertreffen 2018-11-26 germany
Arlon Espace public numérique d’Arlon – Formation Contribuer à OpenStreetMap 2018-11-27 belgium
Reutti Stammtisch Ulmer Alb 2018-11-27 germany
Düsseldorf Stammtisch 2018-11-28 germany
online via IRC Foundation Annual General Meeting 2018-12-15 everywhere
Heidelberg State of the Map 2019 (international conference) 2019-09-21-2019-09-23 germany

Note: Pour que votre événement apparaisse dans l’hebdoOSM, ajoutez-le au calendrier.

Cet hebdoOSM a été préparé par Nakaner, PierZen, Polyglot, Rogehm, SeverinGeo, Guillaume Rischard, SunCobalt, derFred, jcoupey, roptat.

3 thoughts on “hebdoOSM 433

  1. Manfred dit :

    Sorry, my bad.
    But we were so late this week with the release that I didn’t take the time to correct it. Next week the date with the Irish flag will appear. Promise!

    | Let me know if you need one.

    I would like to take this opportunity to point out that we are always looking for interested helpers who are willing to write or correct texts, for example.
    If you want to help to improve weeklyOSM, please register here with your OSM-Nickname: osmbc.openstreetmap.de – Don’t forget to send an email 😉 Then I will give you full access to our editorial system and I am sure that such errors will not occur in the future. 😉

    Gach rud is fearr!

    M.

Comments are closed.

weeklyOSM 433

30/10/2018-05/11/2018

Tourist map of Pristina, Kosovo Pristina, the capital of Kosovo, has created its new official tourist map with OpenStreetMap and MapOSMatic1. | © OpenStreetMap contributors and Municipality of Pristina

Mapping

  • According to a tweet, Pascal Neis has updated his Unmapped Places map. It points to settlements away from large traffic routes. However, tagging errors can also be found in well mapped countries.
  • Stefano Maffulli suggests emergency=fire_alarm_box on the tagging mailing list for a “device put on public land used for notifying a fire department of a fire”. The proposal is limited to public alarms on the street as compared with boxes inside buildings, which are mainly to be used by and for alerting people inside.
  • Toni Erdmann shares about the new quality analysis (QA) tool: PTNA (Public Transport Network Analysis) in the talk-de mailing list (automatic translation) and the forum (automatic translation). This tool will help solve problems related to updating tables related to various train, metro, tram and bus lines by automatically creating these tables and doing a performs target/actual analysis.
  • Almost 4 years ago the Bermuda Triangle was mapped with four nodes and one way. Since the OpenStreetMap Inspector has a “long segment” layer, someone added nearly 400 nodes to avoid it to be reported as a potential error. The following changeset discussion gives some more arguments for shortening the segments by adding nodes to the straight ways. The discussion was continued on Slack and apparently the arguments against the additional nodes were stronger as the nodes disappeared into the Bermuda Triangle were removed.
  • The Finding Missing Roads in the Philippines titled blog post from user Gowin explains his workflow and new validation approach for spotting potential missing roads for completing roads in the Philippines.
  • The address quality assurance tool OSMSuspects from user dooley is now available to all users once again. If you log in with your OSM account, you also get to see the metadata.
  • Leif Rasmussen suggests adding transport timetable data in OSM in a Tagging-Proposal. As was to be expected, most people don’t agree with adding timetables in their full and intricately complex detail. It’s an enormous amount of data, that changes frequently. It would most likely be constantly out of date and hence difficult to rely on. A simpler proposal involving the interval tag combined with conditional opening_hours could be worthy of consideration though.
  • Simon Poole disagrees with the current practice of splitting tags like languages=<code>;<code>;<code> into language:<code1>=yes + language:<code2>=yes. He considers that this makes it more difficult for data users and editor template authors.

Community

  • Opencagedata.com features an interview with Russ Garrett of OpenInfraMap.org. Russ, who met Steve Coast in a pub back in 2005, leads the project OpenInfraMap, which is an OSM-based visualisation of infrastructure, most prominently power networks but also telecommunications, petroleum, and water infrastructure.
  • Contributor johnarupire from osmpe.org (automatic translation) writes (Spanish version) about organising a course introducing OSM and its social and humanitarian uses in the prevention and management of emergencies. This course will be held in the Social Sciences Faculty, at San Marcos National University in Lima, Peru, and will focus on participation, community and geographical open data.
  • The Data Working Group member mavl reports in his user blog about the first 1000 messages that have been received from the new reporting function on openstreetmap.org. Nearly 60 percent of the reports were about users, followed by OSM notes. Regardless of the object of concern, the main reason for the reports was spam.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • Frederik Ramm, currently OSMF board member and OSMF treasurer, reports the rumour of two unnamed companies that are said to “encourage” their employees to join the OSMF, give them election recommendations and reimburse the membership fee.
  • Rory McCann explains on the OSMF mailing list how an employer can tell its employees who they should vote for and how this can be confirmed despite “anonymous” publication of votes.
  • We join Michael Reichert and other people’s calls to become a member of the OSMF. Only a broad member base can ensure that the OSMF board will always act in the interests of mappers. If you want to vote in this year’s election, you should join by November 15. In addition, almost all OSMF Working Groups are looking for help.
  • The OSMF has been working on modifying the OpenStreetMap API (Rails Port and CGIMap) to be compliant with the General Data Protection Regulation and requests tenders by 15 November.

Events

Humanitarian OSM

  • The Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Erasmus+ Students announced in a tweet, that they had held a week-long course called teaching the teachers. The programme had broad scope with topics including mapping, Overpass, OSM Wiki, communication channels and others, plus Wikimedia-related education. This program has highlighted OSM’s possibilities for humanitarian response and economic development support and pioneering leaders (who are volunteers) on this front.
  • HOT needs help over the next few weeks with identifying the number of Venezuelan refugees presently on the island of Aruba.
  • The Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Team has completed mapping lifeline infrastructure, mainly building footprints, road networks, and waterways in Semarang, the fifth largest city in Indonesia.

Maps

  • The OSM based navigation app Magic Earth Navigation now supports Apple’s CarPlay after a recent update, according to this report (de) (automatic translation).
  • Nicolas Bétheuil explained his Overpass-based public transport map with vector tiles on the French mailing list. (fr)(automatic translation).
  • The JOSM-Template for the Xmas Map was revised by user Negreheb at short notice (automatic translation) and documented in the wiki (automatic translation).
    The editorial wishes a nice Christmas time.

switch2OSM

  • Pristina, the capital of Kosovo, has adopted OpenStreetMap as its official tourist map. User Stereo (Guillaume Rischard) has written a diary post about travelling to Kosovo, meeting the local OSM community, and convincing the Municipality of Pristina to use OpenStreetMap.

Open Data

  • OpenGeoHub announced the first release of LandGIS, a web mapping system similar to OSM, for land-related environmental data with spatial resolution between 250 m and 1 km. The datasets include relief, geology, land cover, land use, vegetation and land degradation indices, soil properties, soil classes and potential natural vegetation and are reviewed in an open process. The project partially overlaps (or in other words competes) with OSM.
  • Statistics Canada discusses the Open Database of Buildings, and is working with the community to make the import happen in different regions of Canada.

Software

  • Simon Poole writes about the discontinuation of Google Play for Android 2.3 and 3.x in his user diary and what this means for Vespucci, which still supports these Android versions. He also describes how to compile Vespucci for devices with very low built-in RAM.

Programming

Other “geo” things

  • Justin O’Beirne writes a post about the publication of the new Apple maps and describes how they are different from the old ones by highlighting interesting changes, such as the staggering amount of vegetation detail. Read more about it on his blog.

Upcoming Events

td>ireland

Where What When Country
Kyoto 京都!街歩き!マッピングパーティ:第2回 美山かやぶきの里 2018-11-11 japan
Rennes Réunion mensuelle 2018-11-12 france
Zurich OSM Stammtisch Zurich 2018-11-12 switzerland
Lyon Rencontre mensuelle pour tous 2018-11-13 france
Salzburg Maptime Salzburg 2018-11-13 austria
León Dia del SIG 2018 – Universidad de León 2018-11-14 spain
Munich Münchner Stammtisch 2018-11-14 germany
Mumble Creek OpenStreetMap Foundation public board meeting 2018-11-15 everywhere
Mannheim Mannheimer Mapathons 2018-11-15 germany
Freiberg Stammtisch 2018-11-15 germany
Pamplona Mapatón Pamplona – Médicos sin Fronteras 2018-11-16 spain
Como ItWikiCon 2018 2018-11-16-2018-11-18 italy
Como Mapping Party during ItWikiCon 2018 2018-11-17 italy
Brno State of the Map CZ 2018 2018-11-17 czech republic
Bengaluru State of the Map Asia 2018 2018-11-17-2018-11-18 india
Vantaa OSM GeoWeek 24h HOT Mapathon 2018-11-17-2018-11-18 finland
Wakayama オープンデータソン in 雑賀崎 2018-11-18 japan
Cologne Bonn Airport Bonner Stammtisch 2018-11-20 germany
Lüneburg Lüneburger Mappertreffen 2018-11-20 germany
Derby Pub Meetup 2018-11-20 united kingdom
Reading Reading Missing Maps Mapathon 2018-11-20 united kingdom
Melbourne FOSS4G SotM Oceania 2018 2018-11-20-2018-11-23 australia
Toulouse Rencontre mensuelle 2018-11-21 france
Karlsruhe Stammtisch 2018-11-21 germany
Lübeck Lübecker Mappertreffen 2018-11-22 germany
Alajuela ES:State of the Map Costa Rica 2018-11-23-2018-11-25 costa rica
Manila 【MapaTime!】 2018-11-24 philippines
Dublin Monthly Mapping Party 2018-11-24 ireland
Graz Stammtisch Graz 2018-11-26 austria
Bremen Bremer Mappertreffen 2018-11-26 germany
Arlon Espace public numérique d’Arlon – Formation Contribuer à OpenStreetMap 2018-11-27 belgium
Reutti Stammtisch Ulmer Alb 2018-11-27 germany
Düsseldorf Stammtisch 2018-11-28 germany
online via IRC Foundation Annual General Meeting 2018-12-15 everywhere
Heidelberg State of the Map 2019 (international conference) 2019-09-21-2019-09-23 germany

Note: If you like to see your event here, please put it into the calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM. Please check your event in our public calendar preview and correct it, where appropriate.

This weeklyOSM was produced by LuxuryCoop, Nakaner, PierZen, Polyglot, Rogehm, Guillaume Rischard, SunCobalt, TheSwavu, YoViajo, derFred, jcoupey, jinalfoflia, keithonearth.

3 thoughts on “weeklyOSM 433

  1. Manfred says:

    Sorry, my bad.
    But we were so late this week with the release that I didn’t take the time to correct it. Next week the date with the Irish flag will appear. Promise!

    | Let me know if you need one.

    I would like to take this opportunity to point out that we are always looking for interested helpers who are willing to write or correct texts, for example.
    If you want to help to improve weeklyOSM, please register here with your OSM-Nickname: osmbc.openstreetmap.de – Don’t forget to send an email 😉 Then I will give you full access to our editorial system and I am sure that such errors will not occur in the future. 😉

    Gach rud is fearr!

    M.

Comments are closed.